5. Quilting The Hexie

I am no quilter, but I have found that just by doing a small running stitch I achieve what I think as quilting. I use an ordinary sewing needle and ordinary white cotton thread on these little hexies.

The quilted part to do on this hexie is around the centre of the flower and around the outside of the flower.

With white cotton (I have used blue so that you can see my stitches) make small running stitches around the centre little hexie,  through all the layers. It doesn’t matter if they are not even, once done they will blend into the background and will make your little design puff. Do the stitching in the ditch (the seam line around the white centre hexie).

This is what it looks like on the back.

And this is the front.

 

Now do the same little running stitches just around the outside of the flower.

This is what it looks like on the back, as you stitch pull the thread fairly tight so the layers come together and you get the quilting effect.

As you can see done in white cotton thread, you now have a perfect flower outline puffing up on the back of your hexie. And who is going to worry whether your stitches are all the same length?

In part 6 we will be doing some more simple but pretty embroidery.

2 thoughts on “5. Quilting The Hexie

Leave a comment