Where has 2014 gone!

Our tortoise has been put to bed for the winter, and the cats are refusing to move from the radiators, winter is here again and the Christmas Craft Fairs are upon us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

To my beautiful old Huffy, who never did get over his sorethroat, it was later diagnosed as a tumour, and so, very regretably, had to be put to sleep last month. We all miss him so much.

I really need to concentrate now and stop trying out new things (I’m sure I have said that before). I have 2 booked craft fairs for the beginning of December and I am really worried that I don’t have enough stock to cover them both, but I do also have another idea for next year. I am hoping it will help me to sell stock so I am not overloaded in the studio (when I get around to making some more).  Apart from putting money into a garden shed to store my stock I was running out of ideas. But I will reveal the new idea next year!

The business needs to prove itself, but I am so enjoying making things and experimenting that I am forgetting the practical side. The spreadsheets and accounts for the tax man are awful, I must get a grip next year and make a profit. The workshops will need to have more advertising and I will add the paper weaving as I have had alot of interest in that.  At one of the Christmas Fairs I have booked an extra table so that I will be demonstrating the paper weaving as well as selling the finished items. It will be good if I can book some people for workshops then, for next year.

I love, love making containers i.e boxes and baskets.  Things that are pretty, made from recycled stuff, and useful. I found a smashing little chinese pattern for a fabric teapot, but when I made it up I didn’t like the spout and handle ( I put it down to my sewing and interpretation of the pattern). So I redesigned it and made it into a container with a movable handle. Just like the old fashioned biscuit tins you could buy. They are so cute and are brilliant for using up all the small pieces of fabric that I keep for quilting or patchwork. The lids are made using cat food pouch boxes, and a lovely lady gave me loads of large wooden bead necklaces that I am using for the handles on the lids. I have found that by buying 4oz wadding I can stuff these little pots cheaper than buying the proper stuffing. All you need to do is tease the wadding and it is brilliant for stuffing, and isn’t so heavy as the real stuff.

DSC_0318 DSC_0321

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are my prototypes!

DSC_0325DSC_0327

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This blue one incorporates my favourite type of embroidery red work. But this one is in blue!

DSC_0329DSC_0330

These are so versatile, I have alsorts of ideas for future ones, different sizes, different pattern designs which will include patchwork, crazy patchwork, embroidery, 3d decorations………..

But now I must really go for it and get everything ready for Christmas, roll on 2015!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

