Craft Fair Gorleston

Yes, I know, another craft fair!  I keep saying ‘no more’ but there is always the hope that  someone special sees you, or buys one of your items.  So I will try again.  This time I am hopefully having 2 tables.  One table with things to sell and one table demonstrating how my items are made, with my partner showing how he finishes them. I will be selling some of my rag bags along with my decorated and lined woven paper baskets.  There will also be information on some of my classes.

craft fair table 2

craft fair table 1

My table, in two halves!! (Photographed by my grand daughter Louise)I will have a cloth with a Tina’s Rag Bag banner on it. And I have lots of other items to replenish the table if I sell anything.

I think most of us crafters  make the mistake of thinking that everyone knows what’s involved with our different crafts, but they don’t.  If it looks like ….. it must be made like ….., so it should be the same price as …..!  Even if someone has spent maybe hours, lots of love and thought, skills and experience in producing a one of a kind item. People seem to forget that handmade means a unique item, no two are the same, EVER.  If it is properly handmade, its impossible. A little kink here, a little mistake there.  My motto is ‘its never perfect if its handmade with love’ and I stand by that.  My items are individually made by my own hands, therefore I would like customers to appreciate what I have made, regardless. If they don’t craft themselves they don’t have any idea of  how much time, experience and thought goes into a hand crafted item, let alone the worry and apprehension of showing them and hoping that everyone likes what we have made as much as we do.

So with my tables at the craft fair I hope to:

SAM_1509

show how to change these

SAM_1507

Into these

SAM_1501

Into small corn dollies

SAM_1505

Which when stained and decorated with ribbon and Norfolk grown lavendar can be a pretty little decoration.

SAM_1378

Or with time, patience and skill can be turned into something like this.

Anyway, the craft fair is next Thursday.

craft fair poster

I do hope that some of you reading this blog are local to me and will be able to come along.  If you can, please talk to me and let me know that you are reading my blog, that would be absolutely great.  The internet seems so impersonal.

So, after my disappointment with the Yarmouth venue I am keeping my fingers crossed with this fair, and I hope that someone comes along and appreciates what I do and can help me in my endeavour to carry on being self employed, doing something that I love and to be  able to enspire other people to have a go.

 

2 thoughts on “Craft Fair Gorleston

Leave a Reply

