My First Recycled Craft Workshop

I gave my first craft workshop last week.  I taught some lovely ladies how to make Button Bracelets with Tshirts and cord.  It was a fun evening and everyone went home with 2 completely different bracelets.  A timetable for future workshops will be on my website within the next few days, tinasragbag.co.uk.  The workshops include: Rag Wreaths, Magazine Weaving, Junkmail Bead Making, Teacup Pincushions and Milk Bottle Shoulder Bags.

SAM_0978

Lots of concentration going on here!

Our first bracelet was made using cord and buttons, with the help of a great tutorial on hopestudios.blogspot.co.uk, the ladies were able to finish a bracelet quite quickly, the only thing  we found was that the cord did fray quite alot, plus I hadn’t told them at the beginning to pick out the buttons with big enough holes!!!  But with the help of some wax and some needles that problem was overcome.

SAM_0984

Two completed bracelets

The second bracelet was my own design made with a recycled tshirt.  This way the buttons didn’t twist and you had a solid bracelet.  Whilst researching button bracelets I  found some people were making them by sewing buttons and beads onto a length of ordinary elastic.  I wanted something a little neater.  By cutting a tshirt into 1″ strips and stretching each strip into a cord, 6 of these cords were plaited together and sewn to form a bracelet.  then the buttons and beads were separately sewn on to the bracelet.

I thouroughly enjoyed hosting this workshop and I will be doing many more in the future.  Please visit my website for pricing and booking.

Also I have finally found some time to complete a Viking Knit Bracelet made using the recycled copper wire that my lovely partner has spent hours and hours stripping for me.  It was so easy to make but took a bit more time to add the closure etc.  I made a tool out of an old crochet hook and a bit of thick board to begin the loops.  It has had a lot of admirers and I will be making some more to sell on my website.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

My very first Viking Knit Bracelet

Leave a Reply

